Dscf1173

Sports medicine

Our work revolves around helping active people with a range of different injuries and disorders. We offer innovative treatment concepts combining orthopaedics, manual medicine, sports science and biomechanics. We treat everyone, from children to the elderly, and from recreational sporting enthusiasts to world-class athletes, all of whom benefit from our knowledge and expertise in prevention and therapy on a daily basis.

Sports medicine – By athletes for athletes

It is always a time fraught with worry when a sporting injury is sustained, and the aim is to make the correct diagnosis and initiate the most appropriate therapy as quickly as possible. These principles apply to top-class athletes and recreational sportspeople alike. The therapy we provide is influenced by the many years of experience possessed by our medical team and our therapists, as well as our knowledge of the latest treatment methods. It is not always about enabling the athlete to return to their sport as quickly as possible, but rather ensuring they are in as good a shape as possible when they do.

Elite sports, in particular, which involve maximum stress in training and competition, often take the human body to the limits of its exercise capacity. Therapy for sports-specific overuse injuries is one of our core competencies. Successful therapy always begins with a detailed analysis of the problem and its root causes. Precise knowledge of the causes of overuse damage not only serves as the basis for planning therapy but also helps to prevent injury and complaints in the future.

Sports orthopaedics is a major focus at our clinic. This discipline combines the principles of traditional orthopaedics with findings from the fields of sports science and rehabilitation. The only way to ensure that an injured athlete is given the optimum treatment to enable them to return to their sport successfully is to have a thorough understanding of the stresses and strains on the body that are specific to the sport.

State-of-the-art radiological imaging is used as well as biomechanical examinations and functional tests. The therapeutic spectrum covers the entire range of conservative treatments and surgical therapies.

Our range of services includes:

  • Sports injuries
  • Damage due to overuse
  • Chronic compartment syndrome

All athletes, including those who exercise for health reasons as well as recreational and competitive athletes, should undergo regular health checks.

Ideally, they will undergo a sports medicine examination once a year. The main aims are to diagnose potential weaknesses in the cardiovascular system or musculoskeletal system at an early stage, as well as to prevent further injuries or complications by taking preventative measures.

It is a good idea for those who are new to a sport to undergo a sports medicine examination to make sure that their body is up to the challenges of the chosen activity. The sports medicine examination is a “head to toe examination”, which we, as a Swiss Olympic Medical Center, conduct according to the Swiss Olympic standard.

Before the actual examination, the athlete will be sent a health questionnaire to fill in at home and return to us.

All findings that are recorded during the examination are communicated to the patient verbally and in writing. Any further diagnosis proposals and treatment suggestions are discussed and initiated.

Our range of services includes:

  • Functional Testing
  • ECG and exercise stress test
  • Spirometry
  • Laboratory diagnostics
  • Anthropometry (fat measurement using skinfold testing or bioelectrical impedance)
  • HRV measurements
  • Performance diagnostics
  • Sports guidance
  • Doping prevention

Manual medicine is not a modern invention. Various medical groups in the US and Europe began to dabble in these methods in the 19th century. In Switzerland, the term “manual medicine” is not so widely known. The term “chiropractic” is much more common. The difference is that manual medicine is not practised by a chiropractor but by a medically trained specialist.

In manual medicine, the practitioner’s hands (in Latin manual = by hand) are his most important examination instrument and the sole treatment tool. Using his hands, the doctor for manual medicine carefully palpates your muscles, tendons and joints, feeling for tension, blockages and other dysfunctions of your spine or other joints that can cause you pain.

Based on his medical knowledge, he is able to combine his findings from the examination with your individual situation to work out the right manual treatment for you. He then resolves the causes that he has identified for your symptoms in a targeted yet gentle way, using special manipulations and coordinated movements. Manual treatment is very effective, painless and gentle on the body. It is a method that is often used for acute and chronic back problems or restriction in the range of motion of joints.

Manual medicine is effective for acute (e.g. the dreaded lumbago) and chronic back, joint and muscle problems. In this case, although the muscles, tendons and joints themselves are not damaged, their interaction is impaired, causing you pain and functional limitations. With these kinds of “functional” problems, you will often experience pain a long way from the actual impairment.

The healing process begins on the first visit to the doctor and usually only a small number of treatment sessions are sufficient. After that, your active involvement and personal responsibility is crucial. Through consistent rehabilitation training, you can prevent a relapse and remain symptom-free in the long term.

Treatment
Initially, your manual medicine practitioner will explain each treatment step to help you understand what is happening and enable you to be actively involved.

For the various manual medicine techniques, it is important to align your body correctly and adhere strictly to its natural limits of movement. Some positions and stretches may feel a little uncomfortable, and sometimes the manipulation may result in audible cracking of vertebrae or joints.

All techniques aim to restore mobility (= mobilisation). The doctor uses very little pressure and no force; rather the treatment is gentle and painless.

Treatment benefits
Manual medicine does not just eliminate the pain, as painkillers do, but also the cause of the pain. Various studies have proven that this method is more effective and faster than drugs and physiotherapy. And treatment with manual medicine costs only around a third of what comparable treatment methods would cost.

Doctors who are trained in manual medicine will, however, also recognise situations in which this form of treatment is less appropriate. Based on their interdisciplinary medical expertise, they will use complementary or indeed completely different methods to provide optimum benefit for you, for example, in the case of inflammation, signs of wear or following previous injuries.

Dscf1364

All types of treatment always begin with a personal conversation with our patients and a thorough clinical examination.

These form the basis for deciding which diagnostic methods are to be used to establish your condition. This page contains information about the various diagnostic methods we use.

Our range of services includes:

  • Functional Testing
  • Clinical running and gait analyses
  • Bike fitting
  • Performance lab
  • X-ray
  • Sonography

The aim of the consultation in our sports medicine and orthopaedic clinic is to draw up a comprehensive treatment concept that takes into account the various aspects of your symptoms.

Our range of services includes:

  • Shock wave therapy
  • Electrical muscle stimulation (EMS)
  • Infiltration therapy
  • Molecular orthopaedics
Dokumente

Dscf1173

Sportmedizin

Aktive Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Verletzungen und Erkrankungen stehen im Zentrum unserer Tätigkeit. Im Zusammenspiel von Orthopädie, Manueller Medizin, Sportwissenschaft und Biomechanik bieten wir innovative Behandlungskonzepte. Wir behandeln Kinder ebenso wie ältere Menschen, Freizeitsportler und die weltbesten Athletinnen und Athleten. Sie alle profitieren täglich von unserem Fachwissen und unserer Kompetenz im Bereich Prävention und auch der Therapie.

Sportmedizin – von Sportlern für Sportler

Sportverletzungen sind immer Stresssituationen, in denen es gilt, so schnell wie möglich die richtige Diagnose zu stellen und eine optimale Therapie einzuleiten. Diese Grundsätze gelten für Spitzen- ebenso wie für Breitensportler. Die langjährige Erfahrung unseres Ärzteteams und unserer Therapeuten, aber auch die Kenntnis modernster Behandlungsmethoden prägen unsere Therapie. Dabei geht es nicht immer darum, den Sportler so schnell wie möglich, sondern vielmehr so gesund wie möglich, zurück zum Sport zu bringen.

Gerade der Spitzensport mit maximalen Belastungen im Training und im Wettkampf, bringt den menschlichen Körper oft an die Grenze seiner Belastungsfähigkeit. Die Therapie von sportartspezifischen Überlastungsschäden gehört zu unserer Kernkompetenz. Am Anfang jeder erfolgreichen Therapie steht dabei zunächst immer eine detaillierte Analyse des Problems und seiner Ursachen. Die genaue Kenntnis der Entstehung eines Überlastungsschadens dient nicht nur als Grundlage der Therapieplanung, sondern hilft auch, in der Zukunft Verletzung und Erkrankungen zu verhindern.

Ein grosser Schwerpunkt unserer Klinik ist die Sportorthopädie. Diese Disziplin kombiniert die Prinzipien der klassischen Orthopädie mit Erkenntnissen der Sportwissenschaft und der Rehabilitation. Nur die genaue Kenntnis der sportartspezifischen Belastungen ermöglicht eine optimale Behandlung der verletzten Sportlerin oder des verletzten Sportlers bis zum erfolgreichen «Comeback»!

Modernste radiologische Bildgebung kommt dabei ebenso zum Einsatz wie biomechanische Untersuchungen und Funktionstests. Das therapeutische Spektrum umfasst die gesamte Bandbreite der konservativen Behandlung und der operativen Therapie.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

  • Sportverletzungen
  • Überlastungsschäden
  • Chronisches Kompartmentsyndrom

Jeder Sportler, dazu zählt sowohl der Gesundheitssportler sowie der Breiten- und Leistungssportler, sollte sich einer regelmässigen gesundheitlichen Kontrolle unterziehen.

Bei dieser, im Optimalfall ein Mal jährlich durchgeführten sportmedizinischen Untersuchung (SPU), geht es einerseits darum, allfällige Schwächen des Herz-Kreislauf-Systems bzw. des Bewegungsapparates frühzeitig zu diagnostizieren und andererseits durch Präventivmassnahmen weiteren Verletzungen oder Krankheiten entgegenzuwirken.

Als Sporteinsteiger macht eine SPU Sinn, um sicher zu gehen, dass der Organismus der gewünschten sportlichen Betätigung überhaupt gewachsen ist. Bei der SPU handelt es sich um eine «Von-Kopf-bis-Fuss-Untersuchung», die wir als Swiss Olympic Medical Center nach dem Standard von Swiss Olympic durchführen.

Sie beinhaltet, dass der Sportler schon vor der Untersuchung einen Gesundheitsfragebogen (Anamnesefragebogen) nach Hause geschickt bekommt, den er in Ruhe ausfüllen und an uns zurücksenden kann.

Sämtliche Befunde, die in der Untersuchung aufgenommen werden, werden mündlich und schriftlich an den Patienten weitergegeben. Allfällige weitere Abklärungs- und Behandlungsvorschläge werden besprochen und in die Wege geleitet.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

  • Functional Testing
  • EKG und Belastungs-EKG
  • Spirometrie
  • Labordiagnostik
  • Anthropometrie (Fettmessung mittels Hautfaltenmessung oder Bioimpedanz)
  • HRV-Messungen
  • Leistungsdiagnostik
  • Sportbetreuung
  • Dopingprävention

Die Manuelle Medizin ist keine Erfindung der modernen Zeit. Im 19. Jahrhundert begannen sich verschiedene medizinische Gruppierungen in den USA und Europa mit diesen Methoden zu beschäftigen. In der Schweiz ist der Begriff «Manuelle Medizin» weniger bekannt. Mehr verbreitet ist der Begriff «Chiropraktik». Der Unterschied ist, dass die Manuelle Medizin nicht von einem Chiropraktor sondern von einem medizinisch ausgebildeten Facharzt ausgeübt wird.

In der Manuellen Medizin sind die Hände des Arztes (lateinisch manuell = mit der Hand) das wichtigste Untersuchungs- und das einzige Behandlungsinstrument. Mit seinen Händen ertastet der Arzt für Manuelle Medizin sorgfältig Ihre Muskeln, Sehnen, Gelenke und erspürt Verspannungen, Blockaden und andere Funktionsstörungen Ihrer Wirbelsäule oder anderer Gelenke, die Ihnen Schmerzen bereiten können.

Aufgrund seines Wissens als Arzt vermag er seinen Tastbefund in Ihre persönliche Situation einzuordnen und daraus die richtige manuelle Behandlung für Sie abzuleiten. Sanft und gezielt beseitigt er so mit speziellen Handgriffen und abgestimmten Bewegungen die von ihm festgestellten Ursachen Ihrer Beschwerden. Die manuelle Behandlung ist sehr wirksam, schmerzlos und schonend. Diese Methode wird häufig bei akuten und chronischen Rückenbeschwerden oder Bewegungseinschränkungen der Gelenke eingesetzt.

Die Manuelle Medizin wirkt bei akuten (z.B. dem gefürchteten «Hexenschuss») und chronischen Rücken-, Gelenk- und Muskelbeschwerden. Dabei sind Muskeln, Sehnen und Gelenke selbst zwar nicht geschädigt, jedoch ist ihr Zusammenspiel gestört – weshalb Sie unter Schmerzen und Funktionseinschränkungen leiden. Bei diesen «funktionellen» Problemen kann der Schmerz von der eigentlichen Störung weit entfernt auftreten.

Der Heilungsprozess beginnt beim ersten Arztbesuch und in der Regel genügen schon wenige Behandlungen. Anschliessend ist Ihre aktive Mitarbeit und Eigenverantwortung entscheidend. Durch konsequentes Aufbautraining können Sie einem Rückfall vorbeugen und so langfristig beschwerdefrei bleiben.

Behandlung
Zunächst erklärt Ihnen Ihr Arzt für Manuelle Medizin jeden Behandlungsschritt, damit Sie verstehen, was passiert und Sie aktiv mitarbeiten können.

Bei den verschiedenen Techniken der Manuellen Medizin ist es wichtig, Ihren Körper richtig zu lagern und seine natürlichen Bewegungsgrenzen genau einzuhalten. Gewisse Lagerungen und Spannungseinstellungen werden manchmal als unangenehm empfunden. Es kommt vor, dass der angewandte Handgriff ein hörbares Knacken von Wirbeln oder Gelenken auslöst.

Alle Techniken haben zum Ziel, die Beweglichkeit wiederherzustellen (= Mobilisation). Dabei wendet der Arzt kaum Kraft und keinerlei Gewalt an, sondern geht schmerzfrei und schonend vor.

Behandlungsvorteile
Die Manuelle Medizin beseitigt nicht nur den Schmerz, wie es beim Einsatz von Schmerzmitteln der Fall ist, sondern auch die Ursache des Schmerzes. In verschiedenen Studien konnte bewiesen werden, dass diese Methode im Vergleich zu Medikamenten und Physiotherapie besser und schneller wirksam ist. Dabei kostet die Behandlung mit Manueller Medizin nur etwa ein Drittel gegenüber vergleichbaren Behandlungsverfahren.

Der manuell ausgebildete Arzt erkennt aber auch Situationen, in denen diese Behandlungstechnik weniger geeignet ist. Aufgrund seiner fachübergreifenden medizinischen Kenntnisse wird er z.B. bei Entzündungen, Abnützungserscheinungen oder nach früheren Verletzungen ergänzend oder ausschliesslich andere, für Sie optimale Methoden anwenden.

Dscf1364

Am Anfang jeder Behandlung steht immer das persönliche Gespräch mit unseren Patientinnen und Patienten und eine umfassende klinische Untersuchung.

Sie sind die Grundlage für die Entscheidung, welche diagnostischen Massnahmen zur Abklärung Ihrer Beschwerden eingeleitet werden sollen. Auf dieser Seite können Sie sich über verschiedene diagnostische Verfahren informieren.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

  • Functional Testing
  • Klinische Lauf- und Ganganalysen
  • Bike-Fitting
  • Performance Lab
  • Röntgen
  • Sonographie

Ziel der Beratung in unserer sportmedizinischen und orthopädischen Sprechstunde ist die Erstellung eines umfassenden Behandlungskonzeptes, das die verschiedenen Aspekte Ihrer Beschwerden berücksichtigt.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

  • Stosswellentherapie
  • Elektrische Muskelstimulation (EMS)
  • Infiltrationstherapie
  • Molekulare Orthopädie
Dokumente